Home > Edmonton Oilers, News > A new road jersey for the Oilers in 2011/12?

A new road jersey for the Oilers in 2011/12?

January 18, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

At some point between the end of last season and the start of this season the Oilers retro coloured jerseys became their home jerseys. When exactly this happened I don’t know; I first noticed it in December in the Oilers online store. Regardless of when it happened, I think it’s a good move for a couple of reasons. First I love the old colours, simple as that. Second I don’t really like the layout of our current white and navy jerseys. The stripes on the arms and the piping on the front just don’t look all that great to me. I don’t mind them but I wouldn’t miss them either if they were replaced; which has already happened for the home jerseys and, according to Icethetics, could happen to the road jerseys as well for the start of the 2011/12 season. 

If the Oilers do change their white road jerseys what exactly the new jersey will look like is anyone’s guess. The Icethetics article speculates that it’d be a white version of the current retro jersey, something very similar to what the Oilers wore at home throughout the 80s. This is certainly my gut feeling as well. The retro jerseys have been pretty popular – based on what I see at the games at least – so I don’t know why the Oilers would mess with success. They may not be a very successful club on the ice but they sure seem to be successful on the retail side of the game.

With new home and road jerseys what will happen to the current white and navy jerseys? In theory the Oilers could keep them around as alternates for a year or two wearing them for a few games a year while the remaining stock is sold off but I think that it’s more likely they just disappear. If the prices drop significantly at the end of the year, you can all but guarantee those jerseys are history. I know I won’t miss them.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

